Clawed Presence

20170622_083214

I woke up early again, my body clock still hadn’t adjusted to having a week off and it was now Thursday. It was kind of useful because it encouraged me to get up and go and get a few hours in on the club stretch of the River Wylie. Being really early I found the roads quiet and no one else fishing. I put the sedge from the previous days fishing on my Orivis superfine touch 2 weight and made my way down to the end of the ‘beat’. From there I made my way upstream, on little streams like this I often don’t wade. I prefer to just wear walking boots, in this case a pair that was supposed to be water proof but weren’t, my feet got wet. I then just explore not really caring for mud and other stuff. Its all part of the fun. As I made my way I picked of a few decent Grayling and wild brown trout and losing a few flies along the way. I took all of the fish on the sedge pattern that I started with but very few were left at the end of the session so I’ll be tying some more.

The fly itself is on a size 16 with a body of KRAP dubbing, in this case it was the standard mix, not coloured but I’ll be doing a few with varying colours to match the hatch. The wing is Hi-Float fibres in light dun with elk hair over the top. No Hackle!

As the day wore on the bugs died away during the heat but I expect they’ll appear later when it cools. The rises also died away but I picked a few fish up blind casting. I packed up at 10ish and went home via the record shop.

Ashley

Leave a Reply

