Well I Don’t Remember That One

Every once in a while I’ll be fishing and open my fly box for a fly to try next. When I fished the River Usk a few weeks I had just one such moment. I may have mentioned the fly and said I would write about it, here is a short post on the fly with no name. I am convinced that it is a fly that I came up with what I had on the bench and with early season fishing in mind.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What’s it face

As you may notice the fly is getting called something different each time so a name would be welcome.

The silk is primrose coloured and tied on a size 12. The tail looks to be taken from a bronze mallard feather which was possibly lying on the bend and not very well coloured. The body is hares body fur from the body and ribbed with oval gold tinsel from a craft store. The hackle is brown partridge. As with all my trout flies, the head is sealed with melted bees wax.

I had success fishing with the classic across and down stream wet fly swing although I am suspecting a bit of floatant would enable the fly to be fished as a dry fly upstream.

Ashley

Leave a Reply

