Catching Up

I recently got rather busy but managed to get out a few times, all to the chalkstreams as I was able to combine the trips with dropping flies of. Currently I am trying to fish once a week. This is so that I can make sure that I have time to myself. Mostly I am working or spending what little time with my son and daughter I can. They both work over the weekend so trying to get togeather is difficult at times. Mostly Saturday…leaving Sundays for fishing and with the odd public bank holiday I get to fish. But factors such as dealing with the garden also seem to factor in. Oh, well!

I have managed to get to the chalkstreams, namely the Wylie and the Avon, coinciding with dropping flies off. The Wylie seems to be a favorite of mine during the Hawthorn hatch, which is actually a terrestrial. The little wild browns and hawthorns seem to go well together but that day was cut short when I ran out of hawthorns or rather the apes**it flies which I am now tying on size 12’s with the body going going round the hook bend a bit. They seem to work better.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Avon

Next up was the River Avon, I some how managed to time this with a good hatch of sedges. I took a few Browns and Grayling on a green sedge with a scraggy thorax with very fine rubber legs. A couple of busy weekends resulted in missed weekends but then it was Mayfly time with the flies seemingly a little early. The first week the fish were kind of interested but I was only able to catch using snowshoe emergers tied on a size 18.

With each week brings further attachment of fish to the Mayfly and thus a result of me running out of none mangled flies…until next weekend which may also see me on the Usk for the yellow mays and Brook duns.

In the mean time I am happy to announce that once again I will be tying at the Irish flyfair in Galway, Ireland.

Ashley

Leave a Reply

